NAD_17track_large

Reflection on Faithfulness.

cropped-sedona-sunset.jpg

4 No soldier gets entangled in civilian pursuits, since his aim is to please the one who enlisted him. 5 An athlete is not crowned unless he competes according to the rules. 6 It is the hard-working farmer who ought to have the first share of the crops. 7 Think over what I say, for the Lord will give you understanding in everything. 8 Remember Jesus Christ, risen from the dead, the offspring of David, as preached in my gospel, 9 for which I am suffering, bound with chains as a criminal. But the word of God is not bound! 10 Therefore I endure everything for the sake of the elect, that they also may obtain the salvation that is in Christ Jesus with eternal glory. 11 The saying is trustworthy, for:  If we have died with him, we will also live with him; 12 if we endure, we will also reign with him; if we deny him, he also will deny us; 13 if we are faithless, he remains faithful— for he cannot deny himself.

2 Timothy 2

This is a passage I have been reflecting on these past few days. The imagery here is a soldier, athlete, and a farmer.  These illustrations help to point to something I believe is counter intuitive to our culture.  The theme here is faithfulness.  A soldier is answerable to his commanding officer, in training the athlete competes only with himself, and every morning the farmer must be consistent.  All of these principles have a common thread and that is faithfulness in the hum-drum events of life.

There is nothing exciting most of the time when a soldier sits on guard.  The athlete who works out day in a day out can lose the excitement of competition.  The farmer is constantly planting and pruning.  The goal I believe is not be live “radically” per se but that living a gospel life requires faithfulness.  Yes it is true that our attitudes have a lot to do with this, but I don’t necessarily mean being happy or always putting on a smiling face.  The faithful attitude I am talking about is one that is God-honoring that is reflected in our actions.

God-honoring here I believe is recognizing who God is and that we are to submit to him in the faithfulness wherever he has called us to in our gospel life.  The soldier, the athlete, and the farmer are images of discipline.  I believe it is time again, to reflect and act upon these principles as a disciple.

It has been 14 days since my last post and the truth is, being diligent is tough.  If there is any benefit from this blog, it is to challenge me to be more faithful in my work as an optometry student and the student of the Bible.  I need to reflect and be efficient with my time.

With that, I am going to post also my reflections as I begin an online TMS course on the Old Testament by Keith Essex.  I’m going to do this with a couple of guys, but I think it’d be great to reflect back on what I’ve been learning.  I just saw a piece of his first lecture and since we are planning to meet on Aug 17 or 18, here is what my plan is.

Purchase books: Kingdom of Priest and Cracking the Old Testament Code
Homework: Read through Genesis – Deuteronomy, consider the purpose and themes

Here we go!

Leave a Reply

